On Tuesday I picked up my Amiga 500, 600 and 1200 I had stored and my parents place. I was as happy as a kid in a candy store after having them put in the car and on the way back home. It took me a bit of time to convince my wife they needed to come and be used also. I was planning on setting up the Amiga 1200 first. All three Amiga’s have been stored since April 2003 so it has been some time since they saw the light of day. The 1200 was still of the beautiful color white. I do remember from the last time I used the 1200 it had read/write errors. Sadly enough this was confirmed right after I fired it up.

I have a spare laptop which is faulty so I wanted to use the hard drive from that laptop and use it in the Amiga 1200. At the moment I have it running and created a 500 MB partition on which I installed OS 3.1. The problem I have is that the hard drive does not fit in the bracket. The screw holes on the hard drive do not match the ones on the bracket. At the moment I am not sure how I am going to get this problem solved. Glue? 🙂

Another issue I am looking at is to transfer files to the Amiga 1200. I bought NetWork PC from Weird Science years ago which uses a parallel cable to transfer files between a PC with Windows (95) and the Amiga. Even years ago I did not like it very much since it slowed down the PC a lot and remained so even after closing the program. I tried it now again but for some reason it does not work. So I was wondering if it was possible to do this with the parallel cable between my A1SE 0S4 and the Amiga 1200. I posted about this on Amigans.net but so far no reply yet. I think I might try it with my Compaq laptop and Linux. I will see if I can find some tools that are available that will be able to do this. But I would love to be able to make a connection between my A1SE and Amiga 1200 with the parallel cable.

I have to say that I am really excited about using the Amiga 1200 again. Just opening the box (Amiga Magic Pack) and seeing that shiny white Amiga 1200 was such a great feeling. I can’t wait to try out some software. All that stuff brings back great memories from the past.

