Tuesday morning and with just a bit below 30 degrees Celsius it is not a very hot morning today. I decided I would read mpiva’s review (over at Amiga.org) about the purchase of his new Sam460ex system (ACube Systems Srl) purchased from AmigaKit. I made myself comfortable outside on the porch with a nice cup of coffee.

I had already read the first part of the review some time ago but not the rest (not everything was done at that time) so now is my chance to read all of it. I really love these reviews since they give you a review of a user about a product which is very valuable to me in case I want to purchase such product. As previously mentioned on this site here I think the price for the Sam460ex is rather high. Of course I know it is a niche market and we expect only these kinds of prices but still it is a lot of money. Being married and having other priorities like a mortgage for example I would be unable to make such investment any time soon. Would I purchase such Amiga hardware if I had the funds for it? You bet I would. I thought the comments about Amiga OS4 in the review hit the spot for me.

Another thing that would help would be the inclusion of things for the new user to play with. Remember when I said that at one point I just sat there wondering what to do next? Since AmigaOS is so small, it shouldn’t be hard to include a bunch of pictures, music, videos, etc. There should be Pictures, Audio and Video: assigned by default and they should already have a handful of files in them for the new user to play with. What about some programs that simply show off what the system can do? Remember when AmigaOS came with a Demos drawer?

And, why were there no games? For an OS who’s slogan is Remember when computing was fun?” the complete lack of included games is extremely ironic. They don’t have to be anything fancy like Freespace, just simple time-passers. I don’t think Windows Solitaire got so popular because it was amazing but simply because it was included on every person’s PC.

It should come with some extra software so once you have OS4 running for the first time and checked it a bit you can start playing with some software. Sure you can go online and get some software but would it not be great you got installer options to install additional software (programs / games / demos for example) with ease so you can play with it right away and justify the purchase to your wife? “So show me what it can do” is probably something mpiva heard. Saying “I have to download some stuff first since there is nothing on it yet” will surely get you some nice comments from your wife.

Kudos for the review mpiva.

