Dunkin Donuts

Nothing beats a trip to Starbucks and Dunkin Donuts. Sadly we don’t have them here in Holland. In Thailand we had them on almost every corner. I miss going to them and doing my work there. Sitting there with my iPAQ and foldaway keyboard getting some of my best work done and the ideas would just pour out like a waterfall. I must admit that I would get a lot more done and come up with great ideas if I would just be able to sit in one, preferable both, of them. The reason I had to think about Starbucks and Dunkin Donuts is my wife’s latest gift for me. It’s the book “Poor Your Heart into It” from Howard Schultz about Starbucks. Great book and while I still need to read a lot of it I am already loving it.

Poor Your Heart Into It

The other day I had to think about CrossDOS? Remember CrossDOS? It enabled me to exchange files with my PC MS-DOS friends using 720KB (yes people; floppy disks that can store a whopping 720KB of data) floppy disks. CrossDOS came with Amiga OS 2.1 which is the Amiga OS version I had with my Amiga 600HD. This way I was able to exchange the Soundtracker modules with my PC MS-DOS friends. Besides this I also exchanged technical and programming text files. Remember the 8.3 rule for the file name? MS-DOS all the way! 🙂 At a later stage I was also able to transfer games that I downloaded to my A600HD and A1200 and write them back to a floppy disk and play it on my Amiga’s. Of course you had to split the file since the adf file was too big to fit on a 720KB floppy disk. But it was worth the hassle and it enabled me access to a bigger library of games. It certainly brought some fond memories back thinking about the CrossDOS period.

Since I am following the NatAmi news I also got curious about Aros68K. Is it possible to run it on my classic Amiga? So I posted this question on Aros Exec to get some response. At first it seemed I would need to use a floppy disk for this but you don’t. Just get some files over to your Amiga’s hard drive and you can boot it. That made me even more curious so I am going to give this a try. My goal is to finally release the first (not counting the introduction article) programming article for my The Bucket Programming Corner this weekend. I am also working on the next article for the Amiga in the Attic section. This is also scheduled for this weekend or early next week. Lot’s of things to do so I better get started.

