Because my 1084 monitor broke down I had to come up with a alternative solution to be able to keep using my A1200. The choice was to use a television set I had left over. To test it I played Commando on it. This is really a game that is unplayable unless you use a trainer version. But it did gave me a C64 feeling and with the trainer I kept trying for some time

Commando

I could not help thinking about the time I played similar games like this on a C64. I really like the top down view of these kind of war games. Here’s a list of some of my favourite top down view war games.

Ikari Warriors – Title Screen

Ikari Warriors – Starting point

Everyone has played Ikari Warriors at some stage. How about the two player mode?

Rambo III

Another favourite of mine, Rambo III. I wish they had created a game from part 1 and 2 as well.

Dogs of War – Title Screen

Dogs Of war

Another classic, Dogs of War. “TIMBO F5”, anyone?

Leatherneck – Title Screen

Leatherneck – Enemy contact

Leatherneck also has a two player mode giving you many hours of fun.

If you know some more of these kind of games let me know. There are more I can list here but that would make it a “never ending” list. We can debate for a long time if most of these games are any good at all. But for sure these are my favourite type of games.

I managed to finish and publish part 2 of “ReAction – Opening a Window”. I will start work on part 3 shortly. The weather has been extremely warm lately so I did not use my Amiga’s a lot.

