It is Monday the day after the AmiWest 2012 weekend so I am looking for news from the AmiWest show. I had some peeks during the weekend I noticed there was not much news coming from the show except a few announcements.

A-EON Technology announced that development has commenced of the Warp3D driver for RadeonHD graphics cards. The much awaited 3D support has been exclusively funded by A-EON and is aimed at customers who have recently purchased the new RadeonHD driver.

A more important (if you ask me) announcement was the Libre Office port exclusively funded by A-EON Technology. Libre Office is an open source office suite which descended from Open Office. Next to a good browser a Office package is what many users want. I already use Open Office on my Windows laptop so having the same package, or a descended, would be a great step forward. But such a project is a massive one and I wonder how fast they will be able to get this done. There was no news on how far the project had gone already or any indication when it might be ready.

The above two announcements I had spotted already during the weekend but the next one I missed but is a rather important announcement. ACube Systems announced Aros for the Sam460. My first thought was that this must be a Linux hosted version but no it is a native version of Aros. And soon they will have it available for all their boards. It was shown on AmiWest and they will also show it at the upcoming Pianeta Amiga in Italy (30 nov. 1-2 dec, 2012).

The above three announcements is pretty much it when it comes to news from AmiWest. No news on the netbook which is rather disappointed since it was announced at the last show and one year has passed without any news whatsoever. Surely you would release some info (even if it is news about it being delayed) since that is what people expected. Now I am waiting for all the footage they shot to become available.

