I have to admit I have not really followed the  “First Contact” AmigaOne X1000 news a lot. I guess one of the reasons is that I won’t be getting one anyway and well I already have AmigaOne hardware to run OS4.x on. But none the less I thought it was time to check out some of the latest news about it and write about it here. At first the plan was to ship the AmigaOne X1000 to the customers together with Amiga OS4.2 but now instead of waiting for OS4.2 to be completed A-EON decided to ship it with a  special version of AmigaOS 4.1 Update 5 only for X1000 users. Hyperion announced it on there site that they would ship this and now we see some reports already from people that have received it.

Over at Old School Game Blog you can find some videos of a user unpacking his X1000 and setting it up. I am curious about the first reports on AmigaOS 4.1 Update 5 running on the X1000.

One of the things I always wanted to do, or make in this case, is creating a disk magazine. So this week I thought why not? Let’s have a crack at it and see what will come of it. It would be “old style” which means created on a classic Amiga which in this case will be my A1200. I am not sure what programming language I am going to use but it will be ACE Basic or Amos Basic. Since we are talking about Amos Basic I am also thinking of adding Amos Basic to The Bucket Programming Corner. That aside I am kind of excited about the disk magazine idea. I am no good at graphics but I will focus on the skeleton of the magazine and use some crude graphics just to get the layout done. If that would seem to work (I am pretty confident in my own abilities as you can see) I will try to found someone that can provide some good graphics. Of course it is not all about the graphics because the most important factor is the information on the disc.

Currently I am also working hard to get some new articles done and posted for The Bucket Programming Corner. Hopefully I will manage to get this done this coming week.